Skip to content

My wins in two EP Annual Reports on the Common Foreign, Security and Defence Policy

More women in leadership positions of CSDP missions, mandatory trainings on UN Security Council Resolution 1325, a deadline for the goal of 50% women in leadership positions at EEAS ... I'm proud of the Green and feminist demands we pushed through in two annual reports on the EU's Common Foreign, Security and Defence Policy that were voted on in plenary this week.

As shadow rapporteur for the Annual report on the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP) I successfully pushed several issues: The report calls for gender mainstreaming in CSDP drafting, more women in leadership positions of CSDP missions and for guarantees of comprehensive trainings on UN Security Council Resolution 1325. Further, military CSDP missions should employ gender advisors; the European External Action Service (EEAS) should advocate more strongly for an increase in the proportion of women in EU crisis missions.
In addition to these issues, we as Greens/EFA were also able to ensure that the report criticises the ineffective CSDP missions in Palestine and Libya and calls for an overhaul of the missions in Mali and elsewhere. The main point here is that military training must be more closely aligned with human rights principles and should be embedded in comprehensive security sector reform. Our amendment on this had already been adopted during negotiations.
One other result was very important to me: thanks to a Green amendment, a paragraph that called for money from the European Defence Fund for the establishment of a European missile defence system was deleted from the annual report. Such a system is completely unnecessary; after all, there is already a NATO missile defence system.
When it comes to the Common Security and Defence Policy, calls for "strategic autonomy" of the EU arise all too often. Unfortunately, the unity of the EU is often undermined by unilateral decisions of governments, for example on arms exports – often by the very states calling for "strategic autonomy". I gave my plenary speech on this topic.

Annual Report on the implementation of the Common Security and Defence policy 2020

Annual Report on the implementation of the Common Foreign and Security policy 2020

We were also able to push through Green and feminist demands in the Annual report on the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP): The report encourages the EEAS to adopt concrete targets for more diversity and to set a deadline for the goal of 50% women in leadership positions. EU member states should develop national action plans based on the Gender Action Plan III and the EU Action Plan on Women, Peace and Security .

Despite these successes, both annual reports contain passages that are reason for concern to us Greens.
For example, the CSDP annual report calls on all 27 member states to increase their defence spending until it reaches 2 percent of gross domestic product across the EU. This is not in line with our Green position and we opposed this demand with amendments – which, however, did not find a majority in plenary.
The CFSP annual report also includes a call for the completion of the review of the EU-Mercosur free trade agreement – as Greens we are campaigning against the agreement, which would promote intensive livestock farming and thus the destruction of the Amazon rainforest.
The group line therefore was to vote against the CSDP report and abstain on the CFSP report. Both reports still were adopted by Parliament.
I am nevertheless proud of what we achieved on the CSDP and CFSP annual reports. As Greens/EFA, we will continue to work to ensure that the European Security, Defence and Foreign Policy takes greater account of the concerns of women and minorities, environmental aspects and the issue of disarmament.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Meine Erfolge bei zwei EP-Jahresberichten zur Gemeinsamen Außen-, Sicherheits-, und Verteidigungspolitik

Mehr Gleichstellung und Abrüstung: dafür kämpfe ich im Europäischen Parlament, wenn es um die Gemeinsame Außen-, Sicherheits-, und Verteidigungspolitik der EU geht. Zwei Jahresberichte zu diesen Themen standen diese Woche im Plenum zur Abstimmung.

Beim Jahresbericht über die Gemeinsame Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik (GSVP) war ich Schattenberichterstatterin und konnte eine Reihe von Erfolgen verzeichnen. So fordert der Bericht, Gender Mainstreaming bei der Ausarbeitung der GSVP zu beachten, mehr Frauen in Führungspositionen von GSVP-Missionen und Schulungen zur Resolution 1325 des UN-Sicherheitsrats. Zudem sollten militärische GSVP-Missionen Gender-Berater*innen anstellen; der Europäische Auswärtige Dienst (EAD) sollte sich stärker für einen höheren Frauenanteil bei EU-Krisenmissionen einsetzen.
Neben diesen frauenpolitischen Schwerpunkten konnten wir Grüne/EFA außerdem durchsetzen, dass der Bericht die ineffektiven GSVP-Missionen in Palästina und Libyen kritisiert und eine Überarbeitung der Missionen in Mali und andernorts fordert. Dabei geht es vor allem darum, dass das Training des Militärs stärker an menschenrechtlichen Grundsätzen ausgerichtet sein muss und in eine umfassende Sicherheitssektorreform eingebettet sein sollte. Unser Änderungsantrag hierzu wurde bereits in den Verhandlungen angenommen.
Und noch ein Ergebnis war mir sehr wichtig: Dank eines grünen Änderungsantrags wurde ein Absatz aus dem Jahresbericht gestrichen, der Mittel aus dem Europäischen Verteidigungsfonds für die Einrichtung eines europäischen Raketenabwehrsystems forderte. Ein solches System ist völlig unnötig, schließlich gibt es bereits ein NATO-Raketenabwehrsystem.
Wenn es um die Gemeinsame Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik geht, werden gerne Forderungen nach „Strategischer Autonomie“ der EU laut. Leider wird die Einheit der EU oft durch nationale Alleingänge, bspw. durch Rüstungsexportentscheidungen, untergraben – häufig von genau den Staaten, die nach „Strategischer Autonomie“ rufen. Zu diesem Thema habe ich meine Plenarrede gehalten.

Bericht über die Umsetzung der Gemeinsamen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik – Jahresbericht 2020

Bericht über die Umsetzung der Gemeinsamen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik – Jahresbericht 2020

Auch im Jahresbericht zur Gemeinsamen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik (GASP) konnten wir grüne und feministische Forderungen durchsetzen. Zum Beispiel hält der Bericht den EAD dazu an, konkrete Zielvorgaben für mehr Diversität zu verabschieden und sich eine Frist für das Ziel von 50% Frauen in Führungspositionen zu setzen. Die Mitgliedsstaaten der EU sollten basierend auf dem europäischen Gender Action Plan III und dem EU Action Plan on Women, Peace and Security nationale Aktionspläne ausarbeiten.

Trotz dieser Erfolge: Beide Jahresberichte enthalten Passagen, die uns Grünen/EFA Bauchschmerzen bereiten.
So fordert der GSVP-Jahresbericht alle 27 Mitgliedsstaaten auf, ihre Verteidigungsausgaben zu erhöhen, bis diese EU-weit 2 Prozent des Bruttoinlandsprodukts ausmachen. Dies entspricht nicht unserem grünen Standpunkt, und wir sind mit Änderungsanträgen dagegen vorgegangen, die im Plenum allerdings keine Mehrheit fanden.
Der GASP-Jahresbericht beinhaltet zudem die Forderung nach dem Abschluss der Überarbeitung des EU-Mercosur-Freihandelsabkommens – als Grüne setzen wir uns gegen das Abkommen ein, das intensive Viehhaltung und damit die Zerstörung des Amazonas fördern würde.
Fraktionslinie war daher, gegen den GSVP-Bericht zu stimmen und uns beim GASP-Bericht zu enthalten. Beide Berichte wurden dennoch durch das Parlament angenommen.
Ich bin dennoch stolz auf das, was wir beim GSVP- und beim GASP-Jahresbericht erreicht haben. Wir Grünen/EFA werden uns weiterhin dafür einsetzen, dass die europäische Sicherheits-, Verteidigungs- und Außenpolitik die Belange von Frauen und Minderheiten, Umweltaspekte und das Thema Abrüstung stärker berücksichtigt.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel