Skip to content

My plenary speech on the "strategic autonomy" of the EU

This week, my speech in plenary was about the EU's "strategic autonomy".

Those EU member states that like to use this term are unfortunately often the same that undermine EU unity through national actions:

France, for example, continues to back Haftar in Libya, while the EU supports efforts to bring about peace (e.g. with the Berlin Conference) and has set up a mission to enforce the arms embargo against the country.
Italy sends weapons to al-Sisi ignoring the Egyptian dictator's disastrous record on human rights – and this despite the fact that one of its own citizens, Giulio Regeni, is believed to have fallen victim to Egyptian security forces.
As for Germany, the federal government still supplies Turkey with submarines, even though the Council of the EU has imposed sanctions on Turkish officials over the escalations in the Mediterranean. These submarines could be used against Greece, an EU member state.

I therefore demand that the EU Heads of State outline:

  • how they intend to strengthen the EU's capabilities
  • in which areas they want to delegate national sovereignty
  • what role they see for the European Parliament in this process

You can watch my speech in plenary here:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Meine Plenarrede zur “strategischen Autonomie” der EU

Diese Woche ging es in meiner Rede im Plenum um die “strategische Autonomie” der EU.

Diejenigen EU-Staaten, die diesen Begriff gern verwenden, sind leider oft dieselben, die die Einheit der EU durch nationale Alleingänge untergraben:

So stärkt Frankreich zum Beispiel nach wie vor Haftar in Libyen den Rücken, während die EU Friedensbemühungen unterstützt (z.B. mit der Berliner Konferenz) und eine eigene Mission für die Durchsetzung des Waffenembargos gegen Libyen ins Leben gerufen hat.
Italien schickt Waffen an al-Sisi und ignoriert dabei die verheerende Bilanz des ägyptischen Diktators beim Thema Menschenrechte – und das, obwohl mit Giulio Regeni ein eigener Staatsbürger den ägyptischen Sicherheitskräften mutmaßlich zum Opfer gefallen ist.
Was Deutschland betrifft, so liefert die Bundesregierung weiter U-Boote an die Türkei, obwohl der Rat der EU türkische Offizielle wegen der Eskalationen im Mittelmeer mit Sanktionen belegt hat. Diese U-Boote könnten gegen den EU-Mitgliedstaat Griechenland verwendet werden.

Ich fordere deshalb, dass die EU-Staatschef*innen darlegen:

  • wie sie die EU-Handlungsfähigkeit stärken wollen
  • in welchen Bereichen sie nationale Souveränität abgeben wollen
  • welche Rolle sie dabei für das Europäische Parlament sehe

Meine Rede im Plenum könnt ihr hier sehen:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel