Skip to content

Joint Letter to Merkel: 53 German and Greek MEPs call for the suspension of German submarine exports to Turkey

It’s been a long time that we are seeking dialogue with Turkey. But its government keeps escalating the tensions in the Eastern Mediterranean over maritime rights. Germany, on the other hand, keeps exporting submarines to the country – submarines which could eventually be used against an EU member state. That’s why my Greek colleague Maria Spyraki and I have initiated a letter calling on the German government to immediately suspend the export of these submarines, its components and spare parts, as well as all related maintenance activities to Turkey.

All in all, 53 Greek and German Members of the European Parliament have signed the letter, which was sent before the European Council meeting on 10 December. At the meeting, EU leaders will discuss the situation in the Eastern Mediterranean and relations with Turkey.

Turkey has threatened military action against EU Member States in the Eastern Mediterranean. There is thus a real danger that Turkey uses German submarines in this conflict. Despite Turkey’s threats, no EU Member State has so far stopped arms exports to Turkey.

Open letter to chancelor Angela Merkel

Press release

53 MEPS demand the suspension of German submarine exports to Turkey
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Offener Brief an Merkel: 53 deutsche und griechische Europaabgeordnete fordern die Aussetzung von deutschen U-Boot-Exporten in die Türkei

Seit langem suchen wir den Dialog mit der Türkei. Aber die türkische Regierung lässt die Spannungen im östlichen Mittelmeer immer weiter eskalieren, während Deutschland U-Boote ins Land exportiert – U-Boote, die gegen einen EU-Mitgliedstaat eingesetzt werden könnten. Deshalb haben meine griechische Kollegin Maria Spyraki und ich einen offenen Brief an Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel initiiert. In dem Brief fordern wir die Bundesregierung auf, den Export der U-Boote, ihrer Komponenten und Ersatzteile sowie aller damit verbundenen Wartungsarbeiten in die Türkei sofort auszusetzen.

Insgesamt haben 53 griechische und deutsche Europaabgeordnete den Brief unterzeichnet, der vor dem Treffen des Europäischen Rates am 10. Dezember verschickt wurde. Bei dem Treffen werden die EU-Staats- und Regierungschefs und -chefinnen über die Situation im östlichen Mittelmeer sprechen, sowie über die Beziehungen zur Türkei vor dem Hintergrund des Konflikts über Seerechte.

Die Türkei hat damit gedroht, militärisch gegen EU-Mitgliedstaaten im östlichen Mittelmeer vorzugehen. Es besteht also die reale Gefahr, dass die Türkei in diesem Konflikt deutsche U-Boote einsetzt. Trotz der türkischen Drohungen hat bisher kein EU-Mitgliedstaat die Waffenexporte in die Türkei gestoppt.

Offener Brief an Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel

Pressemitteilung

53 Europaabgeordnete fordern die Aussetzung von deutschen U-Boot-Exporten an die Türkei
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel