Skip to content

#SofaGate - When chairs remain reserved for men

This week, a diplomatic scandal unfolded at the high-level EU delegation meeting with Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan. When the President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, and the President of the Council, Charles Michel, arrived on Wednesday, the Turkish government had only provided two chairs in front of the European and Turkish flags. Michel then took the chair next to Erdoğan, and it became apparent that von der Leyen – understandably – disagreed with having to take a seat on a sofa.

At the Greek TV station Skai (from min. 3:30, see below) and in POLITICO I shared my opinion on this incident:

    1. The issue does not lie with von der Leyen. It lies with the two men who put her in this position.
    2. A meeting with Erdoğan in Turkey is the worst moment for playing good old macho politics.
    3. It is crucial that we talk to Turkey. Turkey is our neighbour; many Turks live in the EU - and many Europeans in Turkey. But in my opinion, a formal sign of support such as this official photo opportunity should not have been sent to Erdoğan at the present time, especially against the background of the repression of the HDP (pro-Kurdish "Halkların Demokratik Partisi") and Turkey's withdrawal from the Istanbul Convention.
    4. Human rights and democracy are two central pillars of Green policy, and especially of Green foreign policy. If the Greens will be part of the new German government, the soft line approach towards Turkey currently maintained by Christian Democrats and Social Democrats will most certainly come to an end in October.
    5. We have requested a plenary debate during which we will talk about the meeting. But we should also focus on the other issues that are important in relation to Turkey: Human rights, the situation of refugees, arms exports, Syria and the Istanbul Convention. We support all democratic forces and women's and human rights defenders in Turkey.

(For those who prefer reading to listening: POLITICO has also reported extensively on the éclat).

You can access the tweet by clicking on the photo above
You can access the tweet by clicking on the photo above

Hannah's contribution from min. 3.30:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

#SofaGate – Wenn Stühle für Männer reserviert bleiben

Diese Woche ist es beim hochrangigen Delegationstreffen der EU in der Türkei mit dem türkischen Präsidenten Recep Tayyip Erdoğan zu einem diplomatischen Eklat gekommen. Als die Kommissionspräsidentin Ursula von der Leyen und Ratspräsident Charles Michel am Mittwoch beim türkischen Präsidenten eintrafen, hatte die türkische Regierung lediglich zwei Stühle vor der europäischen und der türkischen Flagge bereitgestellt. Michel nahm einen Stuhl ein, und in Aufnahmen wurde ersichtlich, dass von der Leyen – berechtigterweise – nicht damit einverstanden war, dass sie auf einem Sofa Platz nehmen musste.

Beim griechischen Fernsehsender Skai (ab min. 3:30, siehe auch weiter unten) und in POLITICO habe ich klargestellt, wie ich diesen Vorfall einschätze:

    1. Von der Leyen ist nicht das Problem. Das Problem sind die beiden Männer, die sie in diese Position gebracht haben.
    2. Ein Besuch bei Erdoğan in der Türkei ist der denkbar schlechteste Moment, um die gute alte Macho-Politik zu fahren.
    3. Ich finde es wichtig, dass wir mit der Türkei reden. Sie ist unsere Nachbarin; viele Türk*innen leben in der EU – und viele Europäer*innen in der Türkei. Aber meiner Meinung nach hätte man bei dem offiziellen Fototermin zum momentanen Zeitpunkt, gerade vor dem Hintegrund der Unterdrückung der HDP (pro-kurdische „Halkların Demokratik Partisi“) und des Ausstiegs der Türkei aus der Istanbul-Konvention, nicht dieses formale Unterstützungszeichen an Erdoğan setzen dürfen.
    4. Menschenrechte und Demokratie sind zwei zentrale Pfeiler einer grünen Politik, und vor allem einer grünen Außenpoltik. Der Kuschelkurs, den Sozial- und Christdemokrat*innen im Moment mit der Türkei fahren, wird im Fall einer grünen Regierungsbeteiligung ab Oktober sicherlich ein Ende haben.
    5. Wir haben eine Plenardebatte beantragt, in der wir den Besuch besprechen werden.
    6. Wir sollten uns jetzt auch auf die anderen Themen konzentrieren, die im Zusammenhang mit der Türkei wichtig sind: Menschenrechte, die Lage von Geflüchteten, Waffenexporte, Syrien und die Istanbul-Konvention. Wir stehen an der Seite aller demokratischen Kräfte und der Frauen- und Menschenrechtsaktivist*innen in der Türkei.

(Wer lieber liest statt hört: POLITICO hat auch ausführlich über den Eklat berichtet.)

Hier geht es zum Tweet
Hier geht es zum Tweet

Hannahs Beitrag ab min. 3.30:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel