Skip to content

My statement on the new peace plan for Yemen

This week, Saudi Arabia proposed a new peace plan to end nearly six years of war in Yemen. It suggests a UN-supervised ceasefire between Yemen's Saudi-backed government and the Houthi rebels who are supported by Iran. The plan also includes the reopening of vital air and sea connections and the start of political negotiations.

As Chair of the European Parliament Delegation for Relations with the Arabian Peninsula, it is clear to me that there can be no military solution to the conflict in Yemen. For that reason, I welcome the commitment of Saudi Arabia and Yemen's internationally recognised government to end the Yemeni crisis and reach a comprehensive political solution.

The crisis can only be resolved sustainably through an inclusive Yemeni-led and Yemeni-owned negotiation process involving all quarters of Yemeni society and all parties to the conflict. [...] Any long-term solution to the conflict needs to address the fundamental causes of instability in the country and fulfil the legitimate demands and aspirations of the Yemeni people.

My statement on the website of the DARP Delegation

"Statement by the Chair on the new peace-plan for war-torn Yemen"
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Meine Stellungnahme zum neuen Friedensplan für den Jemen

Diese Woche hat Saudi-Arabien einen neuen Friedensplan vorgeschlagen, um den fast sechs Jahre andauernden Krieg im Jemen zu beenden. Der Plan beinhaltet einen Waffenstillstand zwischen der von Saudi-Arabien unterstützten Regierung des Jemen und den vom Iran gestützten Huthi-Rebellen. Der Waffenstillstand soll von der UN kontrolliert werden. Lebensnotwendige Luft- und Seeverbindungen sollen wiedereröffnet und politische Verhandlungen angestoßen werden.

Als Vorsitzende der Parlamentsdelegation für die Beziehungen zur Arabischen Halbinsel ist für mich eines klar: Für den Konflikt im Jemen gibt es keine militärische Lösung! Daher begrüße ich die Bemühungen Saudi-Arabiens und der international anerkannten Regierung Jemens für ein Ende der Krise und eine politische Lösung.

Die Krise [kann] nur durch einen inklusiven Verhandlungsprozess unter jemenitischer Führung und in jemenitischer Verantwortung unter Einbeziehung aller Teile der jemenitischen Gesellschaft und aller Konfliktparteien nachhaltig gelöst werden [...]. Jede langfristige Lösung des Konflikts [muss] die grundlegenden Ursachen der Instabilität im Land angehen – und die legitimen Forderungen und Bestrebungen der jemenitischen Bevölkerung erfüllen [...].

Meine Erklärung auf der Webseite der DARP-Delegation

"Erklärung der Vorsitzenden zum neuen Friedensplan für den Jemen"
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel