Skip to content

Conference on the Future of Europe: Making our Europe stronger!

May 9th marked Europe Day – and the kick-off of the Startschuss für die Conference on the Future of Europe. Along with “Pulse of Europe”, we set an example for a Europe of active citizens with a “Europe pride” bike tour.

Upon our arrival at Berlin’s Gendarmenmarkt, Jörg Wojahn (representative of the European Commission in Germany), my colleague Hildegard Bentele (EPP) and I spoke about the importance of the Conference on the Future of Europe. Deutschlandfunk also reported on the Conference in a short feature, to which i.a. Peter Funk, who is involved in “Pulse of Europe”, contributed.

I am confident that many great ideas will emerge from this citizens’ forum on how we can further develop and strengthen Europe – and how we can ensure that it is capable of dealing with the major issues of our time. We need to tackle the climate crisis and finally move forward with the energy transition. We must shape digitalization in a way that allows people decide what happens with their personal data. And we must finally make large corporations like Amazon or Google pay their tax contributions.

Who knows: maybe this citizens’ forum will eventually generate completely new, original ideas that we had not even thought of yet!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas: Unser Europa stärker machen!

Am 09.05. war Europatag – und damit fiel der Startschuss für die Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas. Gemeinsam mit „Pulse of Europe“ haben wir deshalb mit einer Europa-Pride-Radtour ein Zeichen für ein Europa der aktiven Bürger*innen gesetzt.

Am Berliner Gendarmenmarkt angekommen, sprachen Jörg Wojahn, Vertreter der Europäischen Kommission in Deutschland, meine Kollegin Hildegard Bentele (EPP) und ich über die Bedeutung der Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas. Auch der Deutschlandfunk berichtete in einem kurzen Beitrag über die Konferenz. Dort kommt unter anderem Peter Funk zu Wort, der sich bei „Pulse of Europe“ engagiert.

Ich bin optimistisch, dass aus diesem Bürger*innenforum viele tolle Ideen dazu entstehen, wie wir Europa weiterentwickeln und stärken können – und wie wir sicherstellen können, dass es den großen Fragen unserer Zeit gewachsen ist. Wir müssen die Klimakrise anpacken und die Energiewende endlich voranbringen. Wir müssen die Digitalisierung so gestalten, dass die Menschen im Besitz ihrer Daten bleiben können. Und wir müssen Großkonzerne wie Amazon oder Google endlich dazu bringen, ihren Steuerbeitrag zu leisten.

Wer weiß: Vielleicht entwickeln sich aus diesem Bürger*innenforum am Ende ganz neue, originelle Ideen, die wir so noch gar nicht auf dem Schirm hatten!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel