Skip to content

Airbus maintenance work of Turkish military aircraft: disappointing responses from Airbus, OCCAR and the Federal Government

Last month, the EU decided to prolong the IRINI mission in the Mediterranean which aims to enforce the arms embargo against Libya. At the same time, European multinational Airbus continues to maintain Turkish A400M military aircrafts and to deliver spare parts.

Maintenance works are organised by the Organisation for Joint Armament Cooperation (OCCAR), which has i.a. Italy, Spain, France and Germany on its supervisory board. Since August 2020 at the latest there are indications that the A400M aircrafts are being used for transports between Turkey and Libya – thereby breaching the arms embargo the IRINI mission is supposed to enforce.

This has also been confirmed by the latest report of the UN 'Panel of Experts'. The very fact that the planes are entering Libyan airspace is a violation of the embargo, and it is highly likely that these planes are transporting Turkish troops and military equipment to Libya.

The same governments that want to enforce the arms embargo with the IRINI mission by sea are enabling it to be broken by air through the maintenance of the A400M.

After all, without the maintenance and spare parts supplies from European companies such as Airbus, Turkey would no longer be able to operate these flights to Libya.

I investigated the matter and asked Airbus and OCCAR some specific questions, for example:

  • Does the current maintenance contract for the Turkish A400M fleet include provisions stipulating that the fleet may not be used in violation of international law?
  • Does the above mentioned contract include provisions allowing the service provider to cease the contract under specified conditions?
  • What monitoring measures have Airbus and OCCAR established for the duration of the maintenance contract regarding possible misuse of the Turkish A400M fleet?
  • By which EU Member State has the current maintenance contract for the Turkish A400M fleet been licensed?

I have not received any concrete answers:

Airbus states that it is acting "in strict compliance with its contractual obligations, the laws of the Nations and European law". Furthermore, the company points to "confidentiality provisions" in the contracts and refers me to OCCAR.

And OCCAR? OCCAR also refers to confidentiality provisions and states in all earnestness that I should contact Turkey itself.

Thus, none of the parties involved are really trying to address the problem – and neither is the Federal Government. This is demonstrated by its answer to a question by Agnieszka Brugger (MP, Green Party). Among other things, she wanted to know whether the German Federal Government, in its capacity as a member of the Board of Supervisors of OCCAR, had initiated a discussion about consequences for the maintenance of the A400M in Turkey.

The answer by Dr. Peter Tauber (Member of the German Bundestag and Parliamentary State Secretary at the time of the question):

"A400M is a joint European project with multinational manufacturing processes, in which Turkey is one of the programme nations. OCCAR represents the A400M nations and is the strategic provider, entering into contracts on behalf of the programme nations. Discussions along the lines of the question have not taken place in the Board of Supervisors."

In conclusion, the responsible authorities are turning a blind eye to what is happening in Turkey: I would have expected the Federal Government to at least seek dialogue with the other contracting parties, and put pressure on Turkey in order to comply with the arms embargo after the allegations had become public.

Apparently, none of this has happened: The "IRINI" mission continues - and so does the maintenance work for the A400M. The people in Libya are suffering and EU corporations make a profit from it; with the support of the Federal Government. This is not what a consistent arms export policy, in accordance with the rules we have given ourselves, looks like.
Cooperation within the EU context must not lead to a situation where no one feels responsible. On the contrary: we finally need transparent information on how such joint projects are carried out and who exactly is in charge of what. We must be able to have political control over the implementation of such projects at EU level, so that one government cannot – as it has been the case so far – withdraw from responsibility by simply referring to the other. Because of the current chaos of responsibilities, for which even the Federal Government does not feel responsible, arms companies continue to make profits - and German as well as European foreign policy initiatives prove ineffective.
Foto A400M: Julian Herzog, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Wartung türkischer Militärflugzeuge: enttäuschende Antworten von Airbus, OCCAR und der Bundesregierung

Die IRINI-Mission im Mittelmeer zur Durchsetzung des Waffenembargos gegen Libyen wird verlängert: Das hat die EU letzten Monat beschlossen. Gleichzeitig wartet das europäische Unternehmen Airbus weiterhin türkische A400M-Militärflugzeuge und liefert Ersatzteile.

Die Wartungsarbeiten werden von der Gemeinsamen Organisation für Rüstungskooperation (OCCAR) organisiert, in deren Aufsichtsrat u.a. Belgien, Deutschland, Frankreich und Spanien sitzen. Spätestens seit August 2020 gibt es Hinweise, dass die A400M-Flugzeuge für Transporte zwischen der Türkei und Libyen eingesetzt werden – und somit gegen das Waffenembargo verstoßen, das die IRINI-Mission eigentlich durchsetzen soll.

Auch der jüngste Bericht eines UN-Expertengremiums bestätigt die Vorwürfe gegen die Türkei. Allein die Tatsache, dass die Flugzeuge in den libyschen Luftraum eindringen, ist ein Verstoß gegen das Embargo, und es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass diese Flugzeuge türkische Truppen und militärische Ausrüstung nach Libyen transportieren.

Das heißt: Dieselben Regierungen, die mit dem IRINI-Einsatz die Einhaltung des Waffenembargos auf dem Seeweg erreichen wollen, ermöglichen durch die Wartung des A400M dessen Verletzung – auf dem Luftweg.

Schließlich wäre die Türkei ohne die Wartungs- und Ersatzteillieferungen europäischer Unternehmen wie Airbus nicht mehr in der Lage, diese Flüge nach Libyen durchzuführen.

Ich bin der Sache nachgegangen und habe Airbus und OCCAR einige spezfische Fragen gestellt, zum Beispiel:

  • Enthält der Wartungsvertrag für die A400M-Flugzeuge Bestimmungen, nach denen die Flugzeugflotte nicht für Flüge benutzt werden darf, die das Völkerrecht verletzen?
  • Können die Verträge unter bestimmten Bedingungen beendet werden?
  • Haben Airbus und OCCAR die Verträge im Zuge der Berichterstattung über die Nutzung der A400M für türkische Flüge nach Libyen überprüft?
  • Von welchem EU-Mitgliedstaat wurde der aktuelle Wartungsvertrag genehmigt?

Konkrete Antworten habe ich nicht erhalten:

Airbus erklärt, der Konzern handle „in strikter Einhaltung seiner vertraglichen Verpflichtungen, der Gesetze der [beteiligten] Länder und des europäischen Rechts“. Das Unternehmen verweist ansonsten auf Geheimhaltungsklauseln in den Verträgen und auf OCCAR.

Und OCCAR? Beruft sich ebenfalls auf die Geheimhaltung und erklärt allen Ernstes, dass ich mich an die Türkei selbst wenden solle.

Alle Beteiligten versuchen also, sich aus der Affaire zu ziehen – genauso die Bundesregierung. Das zeigt ihre Antwort auf eine Anfrage von Agnieszka Brugger (MdB, Bündnis 90/Die Grünen). Sie wollte unter anderem wissen, ob die Bundesregierung in ihrer Eigenschaft als Mitglied des Board of Supervisors von OCCAR eine Dikussion über Konsequenzen für die Wartung des A400M in der Türkei angestoßen hat.

Die Antwort von Dr. Peter Tauber (MdB und zum Zeitpunkt der Anfrage Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär):

„A400M ist ein europäisches Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit multinationalen Fertigungsprozessen, bei dem die Türkei eine der Programmnationen ist. Die OCCAR vertritt die A400M-Nationen und ist strategischer Bedarfsdecker, indem sie im Namen der Programmnationen Verträge abschließt. Diskussionen im Sinne der Fragestellung haben im Board of Supervisors nicht stattgefunden.“

Die zuständigen Stellen verschließen also die Augen vor dem, was sich in der Türkei abspielt: Ich hätte erwartet, dass die Bundesregierung nach dem Bekanntwerden der Vorwürfe zumindest das Gespräch mit den anderen Vertragspartner:innen sucht und Druck auf die Türkei ausübt, das Waffenembargo einzuhalten.

Offensichtlich ist nichts davon passiert und die Wartungsarbeiten an den A400M gehen weiter wie bisher. Damit verkommt die Mission „IRINI“ zu einer reinen Symbolveranstaltung: Das Leiden der Menschen in Libyen geht weiter und EU-Konzerne verdienen daran mit; mit Unterstützung der Bundesregierung. Konsequente Rüstungsexportpolitik, im Einklang mit den Regeln, die wir uns gegeben haben, sieht anders aus.
Eine Zusammenarbeit im EU-Kontext darf nicht dazu führen, dass niemand sich mehr verantwortlich fühlt. Im Gegenteil: Wir brauchen endlich transparente Informationen, wie solche Gemeinschaftsprojekte durchgeführt werden, und wer wofür genau zuständig ist. Die Umsetzung solcher Projekte müssen wir auf EU-Ebene politisch kontrollieren können, damit sich nicht, wie bisher, jede Regierung mit Verweis auf die andere aus der Verantwortung ziehen kann. Wegen des derzeitigen Zuständigkeitschaos, für das sich auch die Bundesregierung nicht verantwortlich fühlt, machen Rüstungskonzerne weiterhin Profit – und deutsche sowie europäische außenpolitische Initiativen laufen ins Leere.

Foto A400M: Julian Herzog, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel