Skip to content

2 years in the European Parliament - looking back

It's been 2 years since I took my seat in the European Parliament - a lot of things have happened and I was able to celebrate many successes.
A review of the past 12 months:

Human Rights

✔️ The EU adopted its human rights sanctions mechanism last December - a major Green/EFA success!
✔️ Last month, the European Parliament launched its "Twinning" programme for parliamentarians who are in danger because of their work - I had initiated the programme

Feminist Foreign Policy

✔️ My Report on a Feminist Foreign Policy for the EU was adopted by Parliament in October. Many of Parliament's ambitious demands found their way into the Gender Action Plan III of the European Commission
✔️ Together with partners such as the Munich Security Conference, Women In International Security and the AllBright Foundation, I launched #SHEcurity, a campaign for more women & diversity in peace and security

Arms Export

✔️ My report on European arms exports was adopted by Parliament in September 2020 - after weeks and months of fierce negotiations. The report recognizes that weapons cannot be treated like any other export good and calls for, among other things, more transparency and better end-user controls.
✔️ Many different media outlets have interviewed me on the topic of maintenance works and deliveries of spare parts by EU firms, which indirectly help Turkey to break the arms embargo against Libya. I also voiced my concern about the new European "Peace" Facility in several media: Arms exported through the EPF may end up in the wrong hands very quickly.

Climate and Peace

✔️ In Parliament, we adopted a report on the issue, which calls for, among other things, better protection for environmental and human rights defenders and more accountability for governments & companies.
✔️ The report, for which I was shadow rapporteur, also raised the case of Steven Donziger and the legal proceedings underway against him - Steven Donziger has represented indigenous peoples in Ecuador against the oil company Chevron.

I can assure you: many new projects lie ahead. And I will continue fighting for progress in all these areas that are close to my heart 💚
Yours,
 
 
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

2 Jahre im Europäischen Parlament – Ein Rückblick

Es ist jetzt 2 Jahre her, dass ich ins Europäischen Parlament eingezogen bin – eine turbulente Zeit, in der ich viele Erfolge feiern durfte.
Was in den letzten 12 Monaten passiert ist:

Menschenrechte

✔️ Die EU hat im Dezember letzten Jahres ihren Menschenrechts-Sanktionsmechanismus verabschiedet – ein großer Erfolg der Grünen/EFA!
✔️ Das Europäische Parlament hat letzten Monat sein „Twinning“-Programm für Parlamentarier*innen gestartet, die wegen ihrer Arbeit bedroht und angefeindet werden – das Programm hatte ich initiiert

Feministische Außenpolitik

✔️ Mein Bericht über eine Feministische Außenpolitik für die EU wurde im Oktober vom Parlament angenommen. Viele der ehrgeizigen Forderungen des Parlaments fanden ihren Weg in den Gender-Aktionsplan III der Europäischen Kommission
✔️ Gemeinsam mit Partnern wie der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz, Women In International Security und der AllBright-Stiftung habe ich #SHEcurity ins Leben gerufen, eine Kampagne für mehr Frauen & Diversität im Bereich Frieden und Sicherheit

Waffenexporte

✔️ Mein Bericht zu europäischen Waffenexporten wurde im September 2020 vom Parlament verabschiedet – nach wochen- und monatelangen, teils harten Verhandlungen. Der Bericht erkennt an, dass man Waffen nicht wie jedes andere Exportgut behandeln kann, und fordert u.a. mehr Transparenz und bessere Endverbleibskontrollen.
✔️ Viele verschiedene Medien haben mich zum Thema Wartungsarbeiten und Ersatzteillieferungen durch EU-Firmen interviewt, die damit der Türkei indirekt helfen, das Waffenembargo gegen Libyen zu brechen. Außerdem habe ich in mehreren Medien meine Besorgnis über die neue Europäische „Friedens“-Fazilität zum Ausdruck gebracht: Waffen, die über die EPF exportiert werden, können sehr schnell in den falschen Händen landen.

Klima und Frieden

✔️ Im Parlament haben wir einen Bericht zum Thema verabschiedet, der u.a. einen besseren Schutz für Umwelt- und Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen und mehr Rechenschaftspflichten für Regierungen & Unternehmen fordert.
✔️ Der Bericht, für den ich Schattenberichterstatterin war, thematisiert auch den Fall von Steven Donziger und das gegen ihn laufende Gerichtsverfahren – Steven Donziger hat indigene Völker in Ecuador gegen den Ölkonzern Chevron vertreten.

Eins ist klar: Auch in Zukunft wird es viele neue spannende Projekte geben. Und ich werde weiterhin für Fortschritte in all den Bereichen kämpfen, die mir am Herzen liegen 💚.

Eure
 
 
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel