Skip to content

Now online: Greens/EFA study on EU Foreign Policy for a climate just world

The Paris Agreement, adopted by 196 parties in 2015, sets the goal of keeping the global temperature increase well below 2 degrees Celsius (compared to pre-industrial levels). The EU is well on its way: it wants to become the first climate-neutral continent by 2050. The so-called "European Green Deal" clearly defines the EU's goals and first steps towards their realisation. Perhaps the strategy does not go far enough, but it is nevertheless precise and more ambitious than what other countries around the world have presented so far. So, domestically, we are - by and large - doing our homework. But we lack an equally ambitious plan for our external action. After all, the EU is only responsible for 9 percent of global CO2 emissions. So if we really want to stop the climate crisis, we need to get everyone on board. 

How exactly can this work? Our new Green/EFA study provides an answer. The study, written by the independent think tank E3G, looks at how to reconcile EU foreign policy with the Paris Agreement and the European Green Deal

One finding of the study: This decade is crucial for the fight against climate change - and European diplomacy has the potential to achieve a lot for this fight. What it needs to do: Bridge funding gaps, gain our partner's trust, and focus on cooperation and climate-just approaches.

Are you interested? The study is now available.

Read the study

Paris aligned EU External Action for a climate just world for all

Executive Summary

Short version
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Jetzt online: Grüne/EFA-Studie zur EU-Außenpolitik für eine klimagerechte Welt

Das Pariser Abkommen, 2015 von 196 Vertragsparteien angenommen, legt das Ziel fest, den globalen Temperaturanstieg deutlich unter 2 Grad Celsius (verglichen mit dem vorindustriellen Niveau) zu halten. Die EU ist hier auf einem guten Weg: Sie will bis 2050 der erste klimaneutrale Kontinent werden. Der sogenannte „European Green Deal“ definiert klar die EU-Ziele und erste Schritte hin zu ihrer Verwirklichung. Vielleicht geht die Strategie nicht weit genug, aber sie ist doch präzise und ambitionierter als das, was andere Länder weltweit bisher vorgelegt haben. Innenpolitisch machen wir also – im Großen und Ganzen – unsere Hausaufgaben. Aber es fehlt ein ebenso ehrgeiziger Plan für unser außenpolitisches Handeln. Die EU ist schließlich nur für 9 Prozent der weltweiten CO2-Emissionen verantwortlich. Wenn wir also die Klimakrise wirklich stoppen wollen, müssen wir alle mit ins Boot holen. 

Wie genau kann das funktionieren? Unsere neue Grüne/EFA-Studie gibt hierauf eine Antwort. Die Studie, verfasst von der unabhängigen Denkfabrik E3G, setzt sich damit auseinander, wie die Außenpolitik der EU mit dem Pariser Abkommen und dem Europäischen Green Deal in Einklang gebracht werden kann

Ein Ergebnis der Studie: Dieses Jahrzehnt ist entscheidend ist für den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel – und die europäische Diplomatie hat das Potenzial, für diesen Kampf viel zu erreichen. Was sie hierfür tun muss: Finanzierungslücken schließen, um Vertrauen werben, und Zusammenarbeit und klimagerechte Ansätze in den Mittelpunkt stellen.

Interesse? Die Studie ist jetzt online verfügbar.

Studie jetzt lesen

Paris aligned EU External Action for a climate just world for all

Executive Summary

Die Kurzfassung
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel