Skip to content

Abdulhadi Al-Khawaja: the Bahraini human rights defender must be released!

Ten years ago, Abdulhadi Al-Khawaja, who worked for the human rights organisation "Front Line Defenders" and who is the co-founder of the "Bahrain Centre for Human Rights", was detained and subsequently sentenced to life imprisonment. 

Last month, the European Parliament adopted a resolution calling for the immediate and unconditional release of Al-Khawaja, as well as other human rights defenders detained for exercising their fundamental freedoms.

As Chair of the European Parliament Delegation for Relations with the Arabian Peninsula and as Vice-Chair of the Subcommittee on Human Rights, I have again called on the authorities of Bahrain to end the detention of Abdulhadi Al-Khawaja.

No country can justify the restriction of freedom of expression and assembly, and the jailing of defenders promoting universal human rights.

My Co-Statement on the Press room website of the European Parliament

"Bahraini human rights defender Abdulhadi Al-Khawaja must be released"
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Abdulhadi Al-Khawaja: der bahrainische Menschenrechtsverteidiger muss freigelassen werden!

Vor 10 Jahren wurde Abdulhadi Al-Khawaja, Mitarbeiter der Menschenrechtsorganisation „Front Line Defenders“ und Mitbegründer des „Bahrain Centre for Human Rights“, verhaftet und anschließend zu lebenslanger Haft verurteilt. 

Letzten Monat hat das Europäische Parlament eine Resolution angenommen, in der seine sofortige und bedingungslose Freilassung gefordert wird. Auch andere bahrainische Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen müssen freigelassen werden!

Als Vorsitzende der Parlamentsdelegation für die Beziehungen zur Arabischen Halbinsel und Stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Unterausschusses Menschenrechte habe ich die Verantwortlichen in Bahrain erneut aufgefordert, die Inhaftierung von Abdulhadi Al-Khawaja zu beenden. Denn:

Kein Land kann die Einschränkung der Meinungs- und Versammlungsfreiheit und die Inhaftierung von Verteidiger*innen der allgemeinen Menschenrechte rechtfertigen.

Meine Co-Erklärung auf der Webseite des DROI-Unterausschusses

"Der bahrainische Menschenrechtsverteidiger Abdulhadi Al-Khawaja muss freigelassen werden"
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel