Skip to content
Women to the negotiating tables!

More women in Foreign and Security Policy! The Commission published its action plan for 2020-2025

The European Parliament, across party boundaries, sent out a strong signal with its report on gender equality in the EU’s foreign and security policy. It is reassuring to see that a lot of parliament’s ambitious demands found their way into GAP III.

Decisions become better the more diverse the people are who make them. Therefore we need a more inclusive European foreign and security policy!

In October, the European Parliament adopted a report on Gender Equality in the EU's foreign and security policy. Now, the European Commission has published its Action Plan on Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment in External Relations 2020–2025 (GAP III)). 

To ensure 50% of gender balanced management in our own services is one of parliament’s main demands and a ground-breaking indicator and important step towards an EU that leads by example. We now need clear and measurable targets to be able to assess until when we can reach this objective. I assure you that Parliament will hold the Commission and the European External Action Service accountable for this.

I strongly encourage all member states to make sure their commitments to the Women, Peace and Security agenda match this strategy. The national action plans are a welcome occasion to live up to these demands.

The Commission now needs to act and to act fast, to make this good plan change the reality in our own institutions and in the world. My demand: The Commission needs to undertake a mid-term evaluation of the implementation of GAP III and ask for a subsequent debate regarding the implementation of the plan in plenary and in the Council.

Actionplan 2020-2025 of the Commission

Action Plan on Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment in External Relations 2020–2025 (GAP III)
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content
Women to the negotiating tables!

Mehr Frauen in der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik! Die Kommission hat ihren Aktionsplan für 2020-2025 veröffentlicht

Das Europäische Parlament hat mit seinem Bericht über die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter in der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik der EU über Parteigrenzen hinweg ein starkes Zeichen gesetzt. Es ist ein positives Signal, dass viele der ehrgeizigen Forderungen des Parlaments Eingang in den GAP III gefunden haben.

Entscheidungen werden umso besser, je diverser die Menschen sind, die sie treffen. Deshalb brauchen wir eine inklusive europäische Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik.

Im Oktober hat das Europäische Parlament den Bericht über die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter in der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik der EU angenommen. Jetzt hat die Europäische Kommission ihren Aktionsplan zur Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und zur Stärkung der Rolle der Frau in den Außenbeziehungen 2020-2025 (GAP III) veröffentlicht. 

Eine Frauenquote von 50 Prozent auf der Managementebene in unseren eigenen Institutionen ist eine der Hauptforderungen des Parlaments. Dieser wegweisende Indikator wurde im Aktionsplan übernommen. Das ist ein wichtiger Schritt hin zu einer EU, die mit gutem Beispiel vorangeht. Wir brauchen jetzt klare und messbare Vorgaben, bis wann wir dieses Ziel erreichen können. Das Parlament wird das weitere Vorgehen der Kommission und des Europäischem Auswärtigen Diensts kritisch begleiten.

Alle Mitgliedstaaten sollten sicherstellen, dass ihr Engagement für „Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit“ mit der EU-Strategie übereinstimmt. Die Überarbeitung ihrer nationalen Aktionspläne bietet hierfür eine gute Gelegenheit.

Die Kommission muss jetzt handeln, und zwar schnell, damit dieser fortschrittliche Aktionsplan unsere eigenen Institutionen verändert und einen positiven Einfluss in der Welt haben kann. Meine Forderung: Die Kommission sollte in zweieinhalb Jahren, also nach Ablauf der Hälfte seiner Geltungsdauer, eine Zwischenbewertung zur Umsetzung des GAP III vornehmen. Hierzu sollte dann auch eine Debatte im Plenum und im Rat stattfinden.

Aktionsplan 2020-2025 der Kommission

Aktionsplan zur Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und zur Stärkung der Rolle der Frau in den Außenbeziehungen 2020-2025 (GAP III)
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel