Skip to content

Container terminal port in Świnoujście: Reaction of the mayor Janusz Żmurkiewicz

The mayor of Świnoujście, Janusz Żmurkiewicz, has commented on the activism of German politicians against the planned container terminal in Świnoujście on Facebook. In his post, he assumes that our interest in the project is due to the upcoming federal elections and denounces the media for allegedly "depicting only the viewpoint of German politicians" on the topic without further comment. This accusation is, of course, ridiculous: not only because I have been campaigning against the project for a long time, but also because I have already asked Janusz Żmurkiewicz for a meeting several times over the last year and a half. Will he now be willing to meet to talk about the plans for the container port terminal?

Another procedure is currently underway to select an investor and a future terminal operator. Bids will be opened from 1st March next year. It has been clear for some time that those responsible in Poland are placing the construction of the port in the full responsibility of the future private investor - and thus avoid taking on this responsibility for themselves.

The environmental impact assessment prescribed by law, which should be completed before construction begins, is still not available. Therefore, together with Helmut Scholz from the Left Party, I have commissioned an independent study to investigate the expected consequences of the port construction. Both German activists of the citizens' initiative Lebensraum Vorpommern and Polish opponents of the port construction have submitted petitions to the European Parliament.

You can read more about the events and the accusations of the city president in this article from the Ostsee Zeitung.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Containerhafen Swinemünde: Reaktion des Stadtpräsidenten Janusz Żmurkiewicz

Der Stadtpräsident von Swinemünde, Janusz Żmurkiewicz, hat sich auf seinem Facebook-Profil zum Engagement deutscher Politiker*innen gegen den geplanten Containerhafen in Swinemünde  geäußert. Er geht in seinem Post davon aus, dass unser Interesse an dem Projekt auf die bevorstehenden Bundestagswahlen zurückzuführen sei und prangert an, dass Medien angeblich „kommentarlos den Standpunkt deutscher Politiker“ zum Thema abbildeten. Ein absurder Vorwurf – nicht nur, weil ich mich schon länger gegen das Projekt engagiere, sondern auch, weil ich Janusz Żmurkiewicz bereits seit eineinhalb Jahren mehrfach um einen Gesprächstermin gebeten habe. Ob er nun zu einem Treffen bereit ist, um über die Pläne für das Containerhafenterminal zu sprechen?

Derzeit läuft ein weiteres Verfahren zur Auswahl eines Investors und eines zukünftigen Terminalbetreibers. Ab 1. März nächsten Jahres werden die Gebote geöffnet. Es ist schon seit längerem klar, dass die Verantwortlichen in Polen den Hafenbau in die volle Verantwortung des zukünftigen privaten Investors legen – und sich damit selbst aus ebenjener Verantwortung stehlen.

Die vorgeschriebene Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung, die vor Beginn des Baus abgeschlossen sein müsste, liegt nach wie vor nicht vor. Daher habe ich gemeinsam Helmut Scholz von der Linken eine eigenständige Studie zur Untersuchung der zu erwartenden Folgen des Hafenbaus in Auftrag gegeben. Sowohl deutsche Aktivist*innen der Bürger*inneninitiative Lebensraum Vorpommern als auch polnische Gegner*innen des Hafenbaus haben dem Europäischen Parlament zudem jeweils Petitionen vorgelegt.

Mehr zu den Vorgängen und zu den Vorwürfen des Stadtpräsidenten findet ihr in diesem Artikel der Ostsee Zeitung.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel