Skip to content

Container terminal in Świnoujście: Mecklenburg-Western Pommerania must take action now

In Świnoujście, at the coast of the Baltic Sea, the Polish government is planning to build a container terminal in the middle of the European protected nature reserve Natura 2000. Last September, I went there and agreed to work with my Polish colleagues to promote environmental protection in the area, which is also the basis for local tourism. A lot has happened since then:

  • At my suggestion, my Polish colleague Tomasz Aniśko, a member of the Sejm (one of the two chambers of the Polish National Assembly), sent a request to the Polish government, which resulted in a statement from the Ministry of Infrastructure.
  • The Ostsee-Zeitung, a newspaper from Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, received information from the port operating company in Świnoujście and was thus also able to shed some light on the matter.

One thing becomes clear from the information received: those responsible in Poland are placing the full responsibility for the port construction on the future private investor (who is to be determined by tender by 28 January). This also concerns local participation procedures and the environmental impact assessment required by EU legislation. The assessment ultimately decides on the compatibility of the construction project with EU nature and environmental protection laws and thus on the project as a whole. It has still not been finalised. At this point, Polish policy-makers should not shirk their responsibilities by referring to a private company.

The answer from the Warsaw ministry also shows that the Polish government believes that the German side will not be affected by the construction of the container port ─ although

  • according to the same ministry, the port is to become the largest container port in the Baltic Sea
  • the construction site is located in the immediate vicinity of German communities and seaside resorts on Usedom
  • the expected impact on people and the environment from increased shipping and transport traffic will be enormous.

The state government of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, and in particular Patrick Dahlemann as Secretary of State for Western Pomerania, must therefore act now: they must enter into an exchange with those responsible in Poland and ultimately with the investor, and demand German participation!

If the construction project is implemented in the dimension advertised, the damage caused to the environment will be massive ─ and probably irreversible. This applies to both the seaside and the landside. In addition, there will be the impact on tourism on Usedom, which is based on unspoiled nature.

The Petitions Committee of the European Parliament recently accepted the petition no. 1018/2020 of an Usedom citizens' initiative and asked the European Commission to examine the matter. In addition, the Committee on the Environment and Public Health and the Committee on Food Safety will also deal with the petition. The petitioners are asking the EU to stop the construction of the port.

I will continue to follow the developments very critically.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Container-Terminal in Świnoujście: Mecklenburg-Vorpommern muss jetzt aktiv werden

In Świnoujście, an der Ostseeküste, plant die polnische Regierung den Bau eines Container-Terminals, mitten im europäischen Schutzgebiet Natura 2000. Im vergangenen September war ich vor Ort und habe zugesagt, mich gemeinsam mit meinen polnischen Kolleg*innen für die Belange der Umwelt und des Tourismus vor Ort stark zu machen ─ seitdem ist einiges passiert:

  • Auf meine Anregung hin hat mein polnischer Kollegen Tomasz Aniśko, Mitglied im Sejm (eine der beiden Kammern der polnischen Nationalversammlung) eine Anfrage an die polnische Regierung gestellt, die zu einer Stellungnahme des Infrastrukturministeriums führte.
  • Die Ostsee-Zeitung in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern hat Auskunft von der Hafenbetreibergesellschaft in Świnoujście erhalten und konnte so ebenfalls etwas Licht ins Dunkel bringen.

Aus den Informationen wird eines ersichtlich: Die Verantwortlichen in Polen stellen den als Prestige-Projekt angesehenen Hafenbau in die volle Verantwortung des zukünftigen privaten Investors (der soll bis 28. Januar per Ausschreibung ermittelt werden). Das betrifft auch lokale Beteiligungsverfahren und die von der EU vorgeschriebene Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung, die letztlich über die Vereinbarkeit des Bauvorhabens mit den Natur- und Umweltschutzgesetzen der EU und damit über das Projekt als Ganzes entscheidet. Diese Prüfung ist nach wie vor nicht abschließend erstellt. Die polnische Politik sollte sich an dieser Stelle nicht mit dem Verweis auf ein privates Unternehmen aus der Verantwortung ziehen.

Aus der Antwort des Warschauer Ministeriums geht zudem hervor: Die polnische Regierung ist der Ansicht, dass die deutsche Seite durch den Bau des Containerhafens nicht betroffen sein wird. Und das, obwohl

  • der Hafen nach Angaben desselben Ministeriums der größte Containerhafen der Ostsee werden soll
  • sich das Baugelände in unmittelbarer Nähe zu deutschen Gemeinden und Seebädern auf Usedom befindet
  • die zu erwartenden Auswirkungen auf Mensch und Umwelt durch steigenden Schiffs- und Transportverkehr enorm sein werden.

Die Landesregierung Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und insbesondere Patrick Dahlemann als Vorpommern-Staatssekretär müssen deshalb jetzt handeln: Sie müssen mit den polnischen Verantwortlichen und schlussendlich mit dem Investor in Austausch treten und eine deutsche Beteiligung einfordern!

Sollte das Bauvorhaben in der ausgeschriebenen Dimension umgesetzt werden, dann werden die Folgen für die Natur massiv sein ─ und wahrscheinlich nicht mehr rückgängig zu machen. Das betrifft sowohl die See- als auch auf der Landseite. Dazu kommen noch die Auswirkungen auf den Tourismus auf Usedom, der zu großen Teilen von der unversehrten Natur lebt.

Der Petitionsausschuss des Europäischen Parlaments hat kürzlich die Petition Nr. 1018/2020 einer Bürgerinitiative auf Usedom angenommen und die EU-Kommission gebeten, den Sachverhalt zu prüfen. Zusätzlich werden sich auch der Ausschuss für Umweltfragen und öffentliche Gesundheit sowie der Ausschuss für Lebensmittelsicherheit mit der Petition befassen. Die Antragsteller*innen fordern die EU auf, den Bau des Hafens zu unterbinden.

Von meiner Seite aus werde ich die Entwicklungen weiter sehr kritisch verfolgen.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel