Skip to content

Afghanistan: My points of view in the media

Local forces left defenseless

Afghanistan descends into chaos: Thousands of Afghan local forces must fear for their lives, as they are classified as traitors by the Islamists – but the German government is only gradually bringing them to safety. I spoke to the Tagesschau about the situation: It had been clear for some time that the Taliban would take over large parts of the country after the withdrawal of international troops. On 14 May, I therefore wrote a letter to the German government, together with other politicians, academics, military officers, and ex-diplomats, calling for an evacuation of the local forces, as quickly as possible. Now, in mid-August, the federal government is finally waking up. Way too much time has been lost and immense bureaucratic procedures have been built up which are now being put forward as a justification for slow action. I fear that it will be too late for some of the local personnel to be evacuated. These are also our German dead in Afghanistan! I also spoke about the special need for protection of local forces. The trust of the local people working with the Bundeswehr is central to a mission like the one in Afghanistan. They must be able to rely on the fact that a country like Germany will not abandon them. Leaving the local forces in Afghanistan to their fate means disappointment of the locals and scorched earth. In future missions, Germans forces will probably not as easily be able to rely on locals. This can also have problematic consequences for missions which are underway, for example in Mali, where Bundeswehr soldiers are taking part in an international mission against Islamists. The USA, which has more experience with such missions, has a clear policy: “Whoever has worked for us will be brought to safety when we leave the country.” In Germany, the approach was: not one more than necessary. That's why we are where we are now: frantically trying to evacuate everyone – when it is actually already too late. According to the Federal Ministry of Defence, around 1800 local Afghan forces had been flown out by 14 August, but that is far from all. At least 1,500 more members of local staff need to be rescued – and their families too!

Negotiations in Doha only serve as an alibi for Taliban

There is also a lot that can be done by the European Union. For months, negotiations have been taking place in Doha between the Taliban and representatives of the Afghan government, in the presence of European special representatives. The negotiations are supposed to lead to a robust political agreement for Afghanistan. In reality, however, there are no results, and threats and demands from European diplomats remain unheard.

In an interview with the Redaktionsnetzwerk Deutschland (RND), I have made it clear that talks between the conflicting parties – such as those taking place in Doha – are in principle necessary. But more and more, they just serve as an alibi event for the Taliban: They pretend negotiating peace in Doha, but at the same time, with their brutality, they are creating a fait accompli in Afghanistan. This is the opposite of confidence-building measures! I therefore demand that the European Union:

  • develop alternative scenarios and massively increase pressure on the Taliban;
  • ensure that humanitarian aid reaches all people in Afghanistan;
  • link future aid payments to democracy and human rights;
  • document human rights violations in Afghanistan so that they can be prosecuted.

Chaos at the Kabul airport

Fleeing from the Taliban, thousands of people stranded at Kabul International Airport on Monday (August 16th). Hundreds of civilians are trying to somehow get on one of the planes. And what doesGermany do, the country with the second largest military presence in Afghanistan? Germany manages to evacuate 7(!) people with an A400M in its first evacuation flight. In the meantime, the Bundeswehr has been able to fly out several planes with up to 250 people. With the HandelsblattI talked about the fact that the airport in Kabul must continue to be protected in order to enable more people to leave the country. This is especially true given that many people do not even reach the airport at the moment – not even those present in Kabul.

As I told the Redaktionsnetzwerk Deutschland (RND), a fatal situation has emerged: The Foreign Office in Berlin obviously misjudged the situation and did not react even when it was clear that things were very urgent. Private companies that wanted to get their people out were told that the Foreign Office would take care of this – but nothing happened. It was also said that only family members with German passports would be flown out. In the last few months, there have been repeated internal announcements from the CDU (German conservative party) that Germany should not take in more people than absolutely necessary. It becomes increasingly clear that bureaucracy still takes precedence over humanity in the federal government. I fear that if we look back on these days, we will discover many more shocking things.

The military withdrawal

Much faster than expected, the Taliban have conquered one Afghan province after another. In just one day, they took Kabul, the place where most international organisations and embassies are located. In an interview with El Confidencial, I criticise the fact that there has been no European response to the crisis in Afghanistan so far.

It is true that states like Germany have, for example, evacuated Dutch or Czech citizens – and other member states have done the same. However, this is still far from an adequate coordination at EU level. The representatives of the European Union – EU Foreign Policy Chief Josep Borrell, Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and European Council President Charles Michel – have so far been very reticent in their response. On Tuesday (August 17th), finally a first official statement was published which, however, was only signed by 25 member states. This is far from a good example of EU coordination. As long as we need unanimity in foreign policy, it will be very difficult to take a strong European position in situations like this one.

Europe's military position in Afghanistan depends on the US. With the withdrawal of US troops, there was no possibility for Germany, France, or the EU as a whole to continue their military presence in Afghanistan. In an interview with DW News, I explain that the United States made a mistake when only negotiating with the Taliban, leaving the democratically elected Afghan government out of the equation. The withdrawal was too quick and this kind of withdrawal does not correspond to what we Greens had demanded. From a political and strategic point of view, it would have been better to stay longer in the country and withdraw more gradually. In this way, the withdrawal could have been better organised. However, this was not possible given that the withdrawal of the US was a done deal. Because of these dependencies, more and more voices in the EU are calling for a stronger European defence policy. Nonetheless, I would be cautious with such demands: A common position of EU member states is often a long way off in crises like the one we are now seeing in Afghanistan.

The people of Afghanistan and the European Union

Our concern should be mainly the people who are directly threatened by the Taliban right now. They are at risk because they have supported us in our mission in Afghanistan. For instance, they have worked for women's rights, aid organisations or the military forces of a European country. Most of these people are still trapped in Kabul – because we failed to take precautions to protect and evacuate them before the Taliban conquered Afghanistan. We have an immediate responsibility to make sure they all get a flight!

I am angry about the fact that we are now in the situation of expecting from the Taliban to allow EU local staff and staff of other organisations, as well as human rights and women's rights defenders, to leave the country. Because we acted too late, we now have to make concessions to the Taliban in return for a safe passage of these people to the airport, so they can board a plane. This situation of blackmail cannot be allowed to continue. In the case of Germany, there are about 10,000 people in need of protection. These refugees cannot leave the country via the borders in Afghanistan because they are closed. Because of this, there is also the danger that humanitarian aid cannot reach all parts of the country. Through negotiations with the Taliban, we must therefore ensure that:

  • they are able to leave the country;
  • humanitarian aid reaches all parts of the country;
  • safe routes are created for all those who want to leave for neighbouring countries.

It is obvious that not all of these people can stay in Afghanistan's neighbouring countries. For example, a person who has fought for women's rights and thus defied the Taliban's rules will find it difficult to integrate into society in Iran. For such people, a new start in the EU is the only way. Moreover, why should countries like Pakistan, Uzbekistan or Iran take in millions and millions of refugees while we are unable to open the gates to perhaps 25,000 refugees per member state?

The European Union therefore cannot avoid

  • to deal with the admission of certain people into the EU;
  • enter into talks with Iran and Pakistan on how to bring refugees to safety in Afghanistan's neighbouring countries;
  • ensure an orderly distribution of Afghan refugees within the 27 member states.

Europe is prepared for refugees. In many places, we still have the infrastructure that was deployed in 2015. We still have the capacities that were built in 2015 and the years after, as well as integration programmes that we can draw on. Within the EU, however, we are at an impasse when it comes to the distribution of refugees – this applies not only to people from Afghanistan but also to those who have fled Syria. This Gordian knot must be cut.

The women in Afghanistan

Defending the fundamental freedoms and rights of women in Afghanistan will be very difficult in the current situation. The Taliban have assured that they will respect women's rights – by following the "Sharia". However, there are many different interpretations of Sharia law. Already in the 1990s, the Taliban regime was extremely repressive. I have little hope that it will be any better this time. Therefore, clear conditions must be set and the pressure on Taliban must be increased massively. If the 27 EU Member States, together with the UK, the US, Canada, Australia and Japan, make this a priority, we can make a difference.

We must protect the women who fear for their lives. Many Afghan women want to leave and are unable to because they cannot get a visa. Some women even send their husbands away with their children because it is easier for them to pass through controls, e.g. checkpoints. In other cases, local staff have been granted visas but their family members’ visas are denied. Also in these cases, we have a responsibility towards the women. In the absence of exit programmes, only the strongest will succeed in leaving the country.

We must therefore set clear boundaries for the Taliban. They will still depend on international funds and aid. We are ready to provide this money – but we must attach conditions regarding democracy, women's rights, and human rights. We also need to put pressure on Pakistan: many are unaware of the the country’s structural role. We must make clear that any economic support beyond humanitarian aid cannot go directly to the Taliban. Whether we like it or not, the Taliban now rule Afghanistan and we have no choice but to enter into dialogue with them. The EU needs to agree on what its priorities are in this situation.

Taliban's self-staging

In recent weeks, we have seen that the Taliban can adapt to a different situation. They have even gone as far as to negotiate with their arch-enemy, the United States – and have gained advantages. Nowadays, they speak good English and try to polish their image to achieve their goals. However, I do not think those goals have changed. I wish I was wrong, but the reality is different: For instance, the Taliban raid the houses of people who have worked for the international community, they remove female TV presenters from their posts. We will judge the Taliban by their actions and not by their words, and we obviously cannot give too much credence to their words.

The Western community should not recognise a transitional Taliban government. Their leadership and the first press conference have made it clear that there will be no democracy in Afghanistan with the Taliban. As long as this remains the case, there is no room for recognition by Europe or the US. We will have to wait and see how other countries behave: That will show where each country stands in the battle of autocracies against democracies.

We will try to update this article regularly. However, due to the constantly changing situation, this will not always be possible.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Afghanistan: Meine Standpunkte in den Medien

Ortskräfte schutzlos zurückgelassen

Es herrscht heilloses Chaos in Afghanistan: Tausende afghanische Ortskräfte müssen um ihr Leben fürchten, da sie von den Islamisten als Verräter*innen eingestuft werden – von der Bundesregierung werden sie aber nur nach und nach in Sicherheit gebracht. Mit der Tagesschau habe ich über die Lage gesprochen: Es war seit längerem klar, dass die Taliban nach dem Abzug der internationalen Truppen weite Landesteile einnehmen würden. Am 14. Mai habe ich daher zusammen mit anderen Politiker*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Militärs und Ex-Diplomat*innen einen Brief an die Bundesregierung geschrieben und diese aufgefordert, die Ortskräfte schnellstmöglich zu evakuieren. Aber erst jetzt, Mitte August, beginnt die Bundesregierung endlich aus ihrer Starre zu erwachen. Es ist unfassbar viel Zeit verloren gegangen und man hat immense bürokratische Vorgänge aufgebaut, die jetzt als Begründung für das langsame Handeln vorgeschoben werden. Ich befürchte, dass es für einzelne Ortskräfte zu spät sein wird. Auch das sind unsere deutschen Toten in Afghanistan!

Mit der Tagesschau habe ich auch über die besondere Schutzbedürftigkeit von Ortskräften gesprochen. Das Vertrauen der einheimischen Menschen, die mit der Bundeswehr zusammenarbeiten, ist zentral für eine Mission wie die in Afghanistan. Sie müssen sich darauf verlassen können, dass ein Land wie Deutschland sie nicht im Stich lässt. Die Ortskräfte in Afghanistan jetzt ihrem Schicksal zu überlassen, hinterlässt viel Enttäuschung und verbrannte Erde. Es macht uns als Deutsche für zukünftige Missionen sehr einsam und kann auch für aktuelle Einsätze problematische Folgen haben, beispielsweise in Mali, wo sich im Moment ebenfalls Soldat*innen der Bundeswehr im internationalen Einsatz gegen Islamisten befinden.

Die USA, die mehr Erfahrungen mit derartigen Auslandseinsätzen haben, verfolgen eine klare Politik: Wer für uns gearbeitet hat, den bringen wir auch in Sicherheit, wenn wir das Land verlassen. In Deutschland war der Ansatz offenbar: bloß nicht eine*n mehr als nötig. Deswegen sind wir jetzt dort, wo wir sind: Wir versuchen hektisch, alle zu evakuieren – wo es eigentlich schon zu spät ist. Zwar sollen nach Angaben des Bundesministeriums bis zum 14. August rund 1800 afghanische Ortskräfte ausgeflogen worden sein, aber das sind bei weitem noch noch nicht alle. Es müssen noch mindestens 1500 weitere enorm gefährdete Ortskräfte gerettet werden – und auch ihre Familien!

Verhandlungen in Doha werden zur Alibi-Veranstaltung

Auch die EU kann einiges tun. So finden seit Monaten in Doha Verhandlungen zwischen den Taliban und Vertretern der afghanischen Regierung unter dem Beisein europäischer Sonderbeauftragter statt. Die Verhandlungen sollen zu einem belastbaren politischen Abkommen für Afghanistan führen. In Wirklichkeit gibt es aber keine Ergebnisse, und Drohungen sowie Forderungen europäischer Diplomat*innen verhallen ungehört. 

In einem Interview mit dem Redaktionsnetzwerk Deutschland (RND) betone ich, dass Gespräche zwischen den Konfliktparteien – wie sie in Doha stattfinden – zwar prinzipiell nötig sind, aber zunehmend zu Alibi-Veranstaltungen verkommen. Die Taliban geben vor, in Doha über den Frieden zu verhandeln, schaffen zeitgleich in Afghanistan mit brutaler Härte aber entgegengesetzte Fakten. Das ist das Gegenteil von vertrauensbildenden Maßnahmen! Ich fordere daher, dass die Europäische Union:

  • alternative Szenarien entwickelt und den Druck auf die Taliban massiv erhöht;
  • sicherstellt, dass humanitäre Hilfen alle Menschen in Afghanistan erreicht;
  • zukünftige Hilfszahlungen an Demokratie und Menschenrechte knüpft;
  • Menschenrechtsverbrechen in Afghanistan dokumentiert, damit diese später verfolgt werden können.

Chaos am Flughafen in Kabul

Tausende Menschen sind am Montag (16. August) am internationalen Flughafen in Kabul auf der Flucht vor den Taliban gestrandet. Hunderte Zivilisten versuchen auf irgendeine Weise, in eines der Flugzeuge vor Ort zu gelangen. Und was macht Deutschland, das Land mit dem zweitgrößten Militärkontingent in Afghanistan? Deutschland schafft bei der ersten Evakuierung in einer A400M gerade einmal 7(!) Menschen außer Landes. Inzwischen hat die Bundeswehr mehrere Flugzeuge mit bis zu 250 Personen ausfliegen können. Mit dem Handelsblatt habe ich darüber gesprochen, dass der Flughafen in Kabul dennoch länger geschützt werden muss, um mehr Menschen die Ausreise zu ermöglichen. Denn viele Menschen erreichen den Flughafen derzeit gar nicht – selbst die in Kabul nicht.

Wie ich dem Redaktionsnetzwerk Deutschland (RND) mitgeteilt habe, ist in Deutschland eine fatale Situation entstanden: Im Auswärtigen Amt in Berlin hat man die Lage offensichtlich falsch eingeschätzt und auch dann noch nicht reagiert, als klar war, wie sehr es eilt. Privaten Unternehmen, die ihre Mitarbeiter*innen evakuieren wollten, wurde versprochen, das Auswärtige Amt werde sich kümmern – passiert ist aber nichts. Weiter wurde erklärt, dass nur Familienmitglieder mit deutschem Pass ausgeflogen werden. Aus der CDU gab es immer wieder interne Ansagen, nicht mehr Menschen als unbedingt nötig aufzunehmen. Zudem wird zunehmend klar, dass in der Bundesregierung noch immer Bürokratie vor Menschlichkeit geht. Ich befürchte, dass, wenn wir später auf diese Tage zurückblicken, noch viel Erschreckendes zutage treten wird.

Der militärische Rückzug

Die Taliban haben deutlich schneller als erwartet eine Provinz nach der anderen in Afghanistan erobert. An nur einem Tag haben sie Kabul eingenommen, den Ort, an dem sich die meisten internationalen Organisationen und Botschaften befinden. Dass es bisher keine europäische Antwort auf die Krise in Afghanistan gibt, kritisiere ich in einem Interview mit El Confidencial. 

So haben zwar Staaten wie Deutschland zum Beispiel auch Niederländer*innen oder Tschech*innen evakuiert – und andere Mitgliedsstaaten sind ebenso verfahren. Allerdings ist das noch weit entfernt von einer adäquaten Koordinierung auf EU-Ebene. Die Vertreter*innen der Europäischen Union – der EU-Außenbeauftragte Josep Borrell, EU-Kommissionschefin Ursula von der Leyen und der Präsident des Europäischen Rats, Charles Michel – haben sich bisher mit Äußerungen sehr zurückgehalten. Am Dienstag (17. August) gab es dann endlich eine erste amtliche Mitteilung, die jedoch nur von 25 Mitgliedstaaten unterschrieben wurde. Eine bessere Koordination auf europäischer Ebene sieht anders aus. Solange wir Einstimmigkeit in der Außenpolitik brauchen, wird es sehr schwierig sein, in wichtigen Situationen wie dieser eine starke europäische Position einzunehmen. 

Die militärische Stellung Europas in Afghanistan hängt von den USA ab. Mit dem Abzug der USA gab es keinerlei Möglichkeit, dass Deutschland, Frankreich oder die EU als Ganzes ihre militärische Präsenz in Afghanistan fortsetzen. In einem Interview mit DW News erkläre ich, dass es ein weiterer Fehler war, dass die Vereinigten Staaten nur mit den Taliban verhandelt und damit die demokratisch gewählte afghanische Regierung außen vor gelassen haben. Der Rückzug ging zu schnell vonstatten und diese Art von Rückzug entspricht nicht dem, was wir Grüne gefordert hatten. Unter politischen und strategischen Gesichtspunkten wäre es besser gewesen, länger im Land zu bleiben und den Rückzug gradueller zu gestalten. So hätte man den Rückzug besser organisieren können. Die war jedoch nicht möglich, da der Rückzug der USA beschlossene Sache war. Aufgrund dieser Abhängigkeiten werden in der EU immer mehr Stimmen laut, die eine stärkere europäische Verteidigungspolitik fordern. Allerdings wäre ich hier vorsichtig, denn eine gemeinsame Haltung der Mitgliedsstaaten ist bei solchen Krisen, wie wir sie jetzt in Afghanistan sehen, eben häufig in weiter Ferne.

Die Menschen in Afghanistan und die Europäische Union

Unsere Sorge sollte jetzt hauptsächlich den Menschen gelten, die direkt durch die Taliban bedroht sind. Sie sind gefährdet, weil sie uns bei unserer Mission in Afghanistan unterstützt haben. Sie haben sich zum Beispiel für Frauenrechte eingesetzt, für Hilfsorganisationen oder für das Militär europäischer Länder gearbeitet. Die meisten dieser Personen sitzen noch immer in Kabul fest – weil wir es versäumt haben, Vorsichtsmaßnahmen zu ihrem Schutz zu ergreifen und sie vor der Eroberung Afghanistans durch die Taliban zu evakuieren. Wir haben die unmittelbare Verantwortung, dafür zu sorgen, dass sie alle einen Flug bekommen!

Mich macht es wütend, dass wir jetzt in der Situation sind, von den Taliban zu erwarten, dass sie EU-Ortskräfte und Mitarbeiter*innen anderer Organisationen sowie Menschenrechts- und Frauenrechtsverteidiger*innen ausreisen lassen. Durch unser spätes Handeln müssen wir nun den Taliban im Gegenzug Zugeständnisse machen, sodass diese Menschen zum Flughafen gelangen und ein Flugzeug besteigen können. Diese Erpressung darf nicht länger andauern. Allein im Fall Deutschlands handelt es sich um circa 10.000 Schutzbedürftige. Über die Grenzen in Afghanistan können diese Flüchtlinge das Land nicht verlassen, da diese geschlossen sind. Aufgrund dessen besteht zudem die Gefahr, dass humanitäre Hilfe nicht alle Teile des Landes erreichen kann. Durch Verhandlungen mit den Taliban müssen wir daher dafür sorgen, dass:

  • eine Ausreise möglich gemacht wird;
  • humanitäre Hilfe in allen Teilen des Landes ankommt;
  • sichere Routen für all jene geschaffen werden, die in Nachbarländer ausreisen wollen.

Es ist offenkundig, dass nicht alle diese Menschen in Afghanistans Nachbarländern bleiben können. Eine Person, die zum Beispiel für Frauenrechte gekämpft und sich damit den Regeln der Taliban widersetzt hat, wird sich schwerlich in Iran integrieren können. Für solche Menschen ist ein Neuanfang in der EU der einzige Weg. Zudem: Warum sollten Länder wie Pakistan, Usbekistan oder der Iran Abermillionen von Flüchtlingen aufnehmen, während wir nicht in der Lage sind, die Tore für vielleicht 25.000 Geflüchtete pro Mitgliedstaat zu öffnen? 

Die Europäische Union kommt daher nicht umhin

  • sich mit der Aufnahme bestimmter Personen in die EU zu befassen;
  • in Gespräche mit dem Iran und Pakistan darüber einzutreten, wie Geflüchtete in den Nachbarländern Afghanistans in Sicherheit gebracht werden können;
  • für eine geordnete Verteilung afghanischer Geflüchteter innerhalb der 27 Mitgliedsstaaten zu sorgen.

Europa ist auf Geflüchtete vorbereitet. Wir verfügen vielerorts nach wie vor über die Infrastruktur, die 2015 zum Einsatz kam. Wir haben noch immer die Kapazitäten, die sich bereits in 2015 und in den Jahren danach gebildet haben, sowie Integrationsprogramme, auf die wir zurückgreifen können. Innerhalb der EU befinden wir uns aber in einer Sackgasse, wenn es um die Verteilung der Geflüchteten geht – das betrifft nicht nur die Menschen aus Afghanistan, sondern auch diejenigen, die aus Syrien geflohen sind. Dieser gordische Knoten muss durchschlagen werden.

Die afghanischen Frauen

Die Grundfreiheiten und -rechte von Frauen in Afghanistan zu verteidigen wird in der gegenwärtigen Situation sehr schwierig sein. Die Taliban haben versichert, dass sie Frauenrechte achten werden – indem sie die „Scharia“ befolgen. Es gibt aber viele verschiedene Auslegungen der Scharia. Bereits in den 1990er Jahren war das Taliban-Regime extrem repressiv. Ich habe kaum Hoffnung, dass es dieses Mal besser sein wird. Es müssen daher klare Bedingungen gestellt und der Druck auf die Taliban muss massiv erhöht werden. Wenn das die 27 EU-Mitgliedstaaten zusammen mit dem Vereinigten Königreich, den USA, Kanada, Australien und Japan zur Priorität machen, dann können wir etwas bewirken. 

Wir müssen die Frauen schützen, die um ihr Leben fürchten. Viele afghanische Frauen wollen ausreisen und können es nicht, weil sie kein Visum bekommen. Manche Frauen schicken sogar ihre Männer zusammen mit ihren Kindern weg, weil es für sie einfacher ist, Kontrollen wie die Checkpoints zu passieren. In anderen Fällen wurde Ortskräften zwar ein Visum gewährt, ihren Familienangehörigen jedoch Visa verweigert. Auch hier haben wir eine Verantwortung gegenüber den Frauen. Ohne Programme zur Ausreise wird es nur den Stärksten gelingen, das Land zu verlassen.

Wir müssen daher den Taliban klare Grenzen aufzeigen. Die Taliban werden weiterhin auf internationale Gelder und Hilfe angewiesen sein. Wir sind bereit, diese Gelder zur Verfügung zu stellen – aber das muss an Bedingungen geknüpft sein bezüglich Demokratie, Frauen- und Menschenrechten. Zudem müssen wir Druck auf Pakistan ausüben: Viele vergessen die strukturelle Rolle, die dieses Land innehat. Wir müssen deutlich machen, dass jegliche wirtschaftliche Unterstützung, die über humanitäre Hilfe hinausgeht, nicht direkt an die Taliban gehen kann. Ob es uns gefällt oder nicht, die Taliban regieren jetzt Afghanistan und wir haben keine andere Wahl, als in den Dialog mit ihnen einzutreten. Die EU muss sich darüber einig werden, welche Prioritäten sie hier setzen will. 

Die Selbstinszenierung der Taliban

In den letzen Wochen haben wir deutlich gesehen, dass sich die Taliban anpassen können. Sie sind sogar so weit gegangen, mit ihrem Erzfeind, den Vereinigten Staaten, zu verhandeln, und dabei Vorteile herauszuschlagen. Inzwischen sprechen sie gut Englisch und polieren ihr Image, um so ihre Ziele zu erreichen. Ich glaube allerdings nicht, dass sich diese Ziele geändert haben. Ich wünschte, ich würde mich irren, aber die Realität sieht anders aus: Zum Beispiel durchsuchen die Taliban die Häuser von Menschen, die für die internationale Gemeinschaft gearbeitet haben, oder entfernen Fernsehmoderatorinnen von ihren Posten. Wir werden die Taliban daher an ihren Taten und nicht an ihren Worten messen. Und diesen Worten können wir offensichtlich nicht allzu viel Glaubwürdigkeit schenken.

Die westliche Gemeinschaft sollte eine Übergangsregierung der Taliban nicht anerkennen. Ihre Führung und die erste Pressekonferenz haben deutlich gemacht, dass es in Afghanistan mit den Taliban keine Demokratie geben wird. Solange das so bleibt, gibt es keinen Raum für eine Anerkennung durch Europa oder die USA. Wir werden abwarten müssen, wie andere Länder sich verhalten: Das wird zeigen, wo jedes Land im Kampf der Autokratien gegen die Demokratien steht. 

Wir versuchen, diesen Artikel regelmäßig zu aktualisieren. Aufgrund der sich ständig verändernden Lage wird dies jedoch nicht immer sofort möglich sein.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel